Abrikosov Prize in Vortex Physics 2015


The call for nominations for the 2015 Abrikosov prize is open. Deadline (extended) is 15 April 2015 at 17:00:00 (Madrid local time).

Nominations should be sent by email to info(at) and include:

– A letter of not more than 5000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s).
– A CV.
– A list with the five most important publications.
– At least one, but not more than two, seconding letters.

The 2015 committee consists of

A.I. Buzdin
G. Crabtree
K. Kadowaki
S. Vieira
E. Zeldov

The prize will consist of a diploma and of 5000 €.

Decision will be taken end of April and announced during the workshop.

The international Abrikosov Prize aims at recognizing the importance of the field of superconducting vortex physics. The Prize recognizes outstanding achievements in the basic science of vortex behavior, and is presented every two years at the International Workshop on Vortex Matter in Superconductors. The Prizewinners would travel to the Workshop to deliver the Abrikosov Prize lectures.

The Abrikosov Prize in Vortex Physics 2015 is awarded jointly to

Lev N. Bulaevskii, Alexei E. Koshelev and Masashi Tachiki

“for pioneering concepts describing equilibrium and dynamic states of vortex matter in layered type-II superconductors”.

Alexei Abrikosov’s Vortex Lattice

The field of vortex physics was launched in the 1950s by Alexei Abrikosov’s brilliant discovery of superconducting vortices, for which he received the Nobel Prize in Physics in 2003. He was the first to propose the concept of “type-II superconductors” in 1952 and constructed the theory of their magnetic properties, known as the Abrikosov vortex lattice.

The importance of his discovery is embodied in the fact that all present applied superconducting materials are type II superconductors and the vortex lattice discovered by Abrikosov is responsible for the entire electromagnetic behavior of all applied superconductors! This includes their lossless current carrying capacity, their high frequency response, and their shielding of strong magnetic fields. The concept of vortex lattice laid the foundation for all of the basic science, materials discovery and technological applications based on superconductor, including superconducting magnets for research, MRI for medical diagnosis, levitating Maglev trains, ultra-sensitive magnetic field detection with Superconducting Quantum Interference Devices (SQUIDs), high power superconducting generators and motors, and wires for lossless delivery of electricity to customers.

Previous recipients of the Abrikosov Prize

The Abrikosov prize in Vortex Matter was initiated in 2011 to celebrate the 100th year anniversary of the discovery of superconductivity. It was first awarded during the 2011 International Workshop in Vortex Matter in Chicago. Previous recipients are:

2011 Abrikosov Prize – Prof. Peter Kes from Leiden University, the Netherlands

Vortex 2011

Citation: “for his lifetime contributins to the field of vortex matter in disordered superconductors and his magnanimous efforts in growing the field by mentoring young and established researchers.”

2013 Abrikosov Prize – Prof. Francisco de la Cruz from the Atomic Institute in Bariloche, Argentina

Vortex 2013

Citation: “for his lifetime contributions to the field of vortex matter in superconductors, in particular the experimental determination of vortex melting and vortex matter properties in layered superconductors, for his exceptional perseverance in creating a renowned low temperature laboratory specializing in vortex physics and for his tireless efforts in bringing forth generations of young and stablished researchers”.